The 7th Tawphayarlay Literary Awards extended to new categories Print E-mail
User Rating: / 0
Written by Ko Phone   
Monday, 04 March 2013 11:24

The 7th Literary Awards commemorated to late famous political activist and writer Tawphayarlay were presented at February 28, 2013 at Thiri Hall of Tawwin Hninn Si restaurant. The ceremony started at 2pm and many prominent journalists, writers, poets and politicians such as a veteran journalist and pro-democracy leader U Win Tin, Maung Moe Thu, Daw Khin Swe Oo, U Htet Myet, U Kyi Naing, a poet Ko Lay(Innwa Gonye), Maung Sein Ne, U Hla Shwe and others were attended collectively.

A writer Maung Lwin Mon(Kathar) conducted as a master of ceremony and the widow of late writer Tawphayarlay gave an opening speech. Then, a member of award committee Htet Myat explained about the principles set out by the committee. He also expressed his concern about the newly introduced Publishing Law by saying that it would breach freedom of expression since the law prohibited any criticism against the constitution and other legislations adopted by military backed government and the law sanctions a fine 1 million kyat to 10 million kyat or 3 month imprisonment.

The awards were presented in 4 different categories such as Political Literature, poetry collections, short story collections and journalism award. Award for political literature went to late veteran ex-brigadier general Kyaw Zaw for his auto-biography ‘From Sai Su to Mai Hai’ published by Phyo Maut Thar publication. In poetry collections category, Ko Lay(Innwa Gon Ye) was awarded for his book ‘By Noontime’ published by Lu Dy Kyii Pwar Yae publication. Khin Mya Zin won a prize for her short story collections Cloud in the Sky published by Yar Pyae publication. Journalism award was presented to Wae Lon (alias) Aung Mhine San for his feature articale published in Lu Du Pon Yate Journal.

This Tawphayarlay Literary Awards have been presented annually for 7 years now from a fund raised by a family of Tawphayarlay and other donors. During these 7 years, the award presenting ceremony can be hold publicly only two times.
                                                                                                      Ko Phone
                                                                                                 translated by ko Phyo
Last Updated on Monday, 04 March 2013 11:33